Home Sports Cricket England Squad for Ashes 2017-18 Announced

England Squad for Ashes 2017-18 Announced

4 min read

As one of the biggest series in the history of Cricket approaches, the England Cricket Board has announced the squad which will represent the England Cricket Team in Australia for the Ashes.

The 2017–18 Ashes series is an upcoming series of Test Cricket matches that would see England and Australia battle it out on the field for The Ashes. This time, the Ashes series will be played at five venues across Australia Australia between 23 November 2017 and 8 January 2018.

One of the most hyped up things before the starting of the series is, of course, the squad of both the teams, England and Australia. The ECB was the first one to declare the squad this time. The following people have been included in the 16 man squad-

Joe Root (capt, Yorkshire)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (wk, Yorkshire)
Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire)
Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Alastair Cook (Essex)
Mason Crane (Hampshire)
Ben Foakes (wk, Surrey)
Dawid Malan (Middlesex)
Craig Overton (Somerset)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
Mark Stoneman (Surrey)
James Vince (Hampshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)


With certain new entries in the team such as Ben Foakes, the squad looks talented enough to defeat Australia on their home ground. ONE of the interesting things to see here is that Ben Stokes, who was arrested yesterday on the suspicion for causing actual bodily harm, has been included and named as the Vice President for England.

It remains to be seen how the Australian squad is going to look like as it is yet to decide on a team that will have to go up against the England squad.

The five venues for the series are expected to be the Gabba, Brisbane; the Adelaide Oval, Adelaide; the WACA Ground, Perth; the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne and the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney. The Adelaide Oval will also be the first to host a day/night Ashes Test during the series.

The Schedule Of the Series is as follows:

1st Test
23–27 November 2017
The Gabba, Brisbane

2nd Test
2–6 December 2017
Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

3rd Test
14–18 December 2017
WACA Ground, Perth

4th Test
26–30 December 2017
Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

5th Test
4–8 January 2018
Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

If you are looking for asia cup 2018 squad india or Asia Cup 2018 match Schedule then visit here.


Load More By Sidharth Bhanushali
Load More In Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Why Dementia Should Be Taken Seriously

For a long time now, the world has experienced an upward slope for the number of people su…