Home Lifestyle The Ultimate Guide To Learn How To Delete Messages In Discord

The Ultimate Guide To Learn How To Delete Messages In Discord

12 min read
0
0
108
Discord

A population of many today utilizes Discord as a platform to communicate with their network but only a handful of us know how to manage our own Discord Server.

Old message management is surely an arduous task that one has to administer while handling a Discord server. However, it is also crucial to keep a tab of your messages and delete negative or otherwise offensive messages.

The size of your Discord server determines how many messages it can store and the number can be in thousands. You can either choose to delete all the messages at once and get rid of them or delete a few selective ones only. Whichever option you choose, ensuring that you’d it in the most user-friendly manner makes it an easy task.

This is what this post is all about. We have compiled this guide to help you learn how to manage your Discord Server messages and the easiest way to get rid of them.

How to Delete All Discord Messages?

There are two unique types of messages on Discord Server. Firstly there are private messages which are messages shared by two users, sent directly, to one another. Then there are channel messages which are text messages shared with a group of users on a dedicated channel.

The rules and function of each type of message is unique to their type. Initially, deleting messages on Discord was very easy and the administrators could do it easily within the native UI of the app. The deletion was possible for bulk quantity and because a lot of administrators were practicing it, it created serious database errors.

It was thus decided to remove the option from the native UI. Deleting all messages in Discord is still possible but is now a little complicated than it was previously.

Can I delete Direct Messages in Discord?

Here is a step to step guide to delete the direct messages in Discord. You need to be specific about the message you need to delete as you can either close the chat panel or delete a specific message which will then not show in your message history.  Here is how to erase a direct message in Discord:

Step 1:

Right Click on the user’s name you have shared the message with and select the particular message.

Step 2:

You will be directed to the Direct message panel on the left side of the screen. Hover your mouse over the conversation and you will see an X. Click on it.

This will delete the particular message from your chat history. Discord won’t ask you to confirm your action and once you click on the X, the message will be deleted at once. Make sure you do not delete any other messages.

This is how you can delete a private message in Discord. However, if you want to delete Channel messages, you must read further to get the right instructions.

Can I Delete Channel Messages in Discord?

Yes, you can but it is not the same as deleting direct messages. There are a few different methods to delete channel messages in Discord.

Manual deletion of Channel messages in Discord:

Here is a step by step guide to deleting channel messages in Discord:

Step 1:

Click open the text channel which contains the message you want to delete.

Step 2:

Hover the mouse over the message and you will see a three-dot icon on the extreme right end. Click on the icon, you will see a drop-down menu. Click on delete.

Step 3:

You will see a pop-up window asking for your confirmation to delete the selection. Click on Delete.

You can easily delete a handful of channel messages using this method. However, if these messages are in awful quantities, you might not be willing to put as many efforts as required for deleting them all.

Here is an easy method to delete bulk channel messages in Discord.

Using Discord Bot for Deleting Bulk Channel Methods:

You can find a variety of bots online which will help you in deleting bulk channel messages on Discord. However, MEE6 is one of the most trusted and user-friendly bot in the market currently.

To install a MEE6 bot you must log in to your Discord server and follow these steps:

  1. Open the MEE6 website.
  2. Choose the option Add to Discord.
  3. Choose the appropriate server.
  4. A popup window will appear, click on Continue. This will link the MEE6 bot to your Discord server.
  5. You must now authorize MEE6 to access your messages and delete the ones required to. You must give permission by clicking on the authorize icon.
  6. The next will be user verification. You will have to add a captcha and follow the verification prompts.

Now MEE6 bot is successfully installed with your server and you can use it to do the needful. You can either choose the features from the prompt windows or use the following commands.

  • !clear @username’ this will delete 100 messages from any specific user.
  • !clear 500’ this will delete all the last 500 messages on the channel.

Depending upon your requirements, you can change the number and delete as many messages as you want up to 1000.

This method is one of the fastest and easiest messages to delete bulk channel messages in Discord Server.

Cloning the Channel to Delete Bulk Channel Messages in Discord

Even if the MEE6 option does not bring you the desired results, you have the final option and that is cloning the channel. This is a way to create a copy of the channel minus the existing message history.

Here, it is worth noting that you must create a list of the bots on the channel as during cloning they might not be copied.

Here is how to clone a channel in the Discord server:

  1. Right-click on the channel and click Clone Channel.
  2. If you want, you can rename the cloned channel here.
  3. Delete the previous version and access the cloned version. You can add bots of your choice if you want to.

When you clone the channel, the users of the original channel will be added automatically. This process will also recreate everyone’s permissions. It is an easy way to get rid of unwanted messages from a channel than making an entirely new channel.

How to Recover Deleted Messages in the Discord Server?

It is harsh but once you have deleted messages from your Discord Server, they cannot be retrieved Even if you have done it by mistake, you cannot get hold of the messages as the company does not maintain any database of the deleted messages on its server.

However, there are a few tricks and bots that can be used to capture screenshots of the inappropriate messages you get. These screenshots are used as proof when you approach the support team to report them.

Load More By pepnewz
Load More In Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

10 Effective Ways to Add Value to Your Car

When you purchase your dream car, its value starts depreciating as soon as you drive off f…